Beauty

Glowy Spring Makeup

Spring is officially here and, as the weather finally starts to take a turn for the better (fingers crossed), I’m getting a little more experimental with my makeup. When it comes to products, I’m a lover of matte anything; eyes, lips, face, it’s almost always a matte product but, after picking up the L’Oreal Cushion Foundation a couple of months ago I’ve been trying out a more glowy looks, perfect for the spring.

Glowy make up products
Products used: Benefit Dew the Hoola: £24.50, Rimmel Wake Me Up Radiant Rose: £3.99, Collection Speedy Highlighter: £2.99, MAC Eye Shadow in All That Glitters: £13.50, Collection Lasting Perfection Concealer: £4.19, L’Oreal Cushion FoundationL’Oreal Cushion Foundation: £14.99, The Ordinary High-Adherence Silicone Primer: £3.90

I recently purchased this primer from The Ordinary, a relatively new skincare brand that seems to be taking the beauty world by storm. I picked up my High-Adherence Silicone Primer in a recent Asos order but you can get it straight from the brands website for a couple of pounds cheaper than the already super affordable £5 that I paid. I’m going to be doing a full review of this primer soon but I will say it’s bloody brilliant! I’m absolutely loving it so far!

I’ve been following the primer with the L’Oreal Nude Magique Cushion foundation, a product that I was skeptical about to start with. I’m a full coverage girl through and through and usually go for a matte foundation to keep my oily t-zone under control but, combined with The Ordinary primer, this foundation gives a gorgeous, dewy, not shiny, finish. Although it has a light to medium coverage, I find this cushion foundation quite buildable and it works like a dream with my trusty Collection Lasting Perfection concealer!

IMG_3874-2

I’ve always been a little scared of any cream/liquid based products that aren’t base products but recently, I’ve been rummaging through my makeup stash and have discovered some bits that I’ve barely used.

I got Benefit’s ‘Dew the Hoola’ in a set I brought from QVC ages ago and threw it in a draw as I had no intensions of using it, but it goes perfectly with the dewy fnish of the cushion foundation. On first pump, Dew the Hoola looks super orange toned and honestly pretty terrifying but once dotted along the areas that you want to bronze up and blended, it gives a beautiful sunkissed glow.

blush, highlight, bronze - glowy

When I first picked up this speedy highlighing stick from Collection, I absolutely hated it, mostly because I had no clue how to use it! I was trying to apply it over a heavily powdered matte foundation and the result was a stripe where the highligher stick had removed all of the product from my face… Not the look I was going for. With the cushion foundation and a dewy bronzer, this gorgeous champagne shimmer looks beautiful. I apply stripes of highlight to the high points of my face and then blend lightly with my finger for a natural finish.

Rimmel’s Wake me Up Instant Radiance Shimmer Touch has the longest, most complicated name. It’s a beautiful, rosey pink cream blush that comes in a tricky to use tube that can (and often does) result in product going everywhere. A tiny bit of this goes a long, long way and leaves cheeks with a gorgeous, natural flush of colour, perfect for the spring months.

Mac eyeshadow

I love a Mac eyeshadow, from the pigmentation and consistency to the longevity. All that Glitters it the first Mac eyeshadow that I purchased and I use it all of the time. This champagney-bronzey-goldy shade looks beautiful as a base for different looks or, blended all over the lid on it’s own to create a natural, shimmery eye. Mac shadows don’t crease or crumble, they stay put all day and are super comfortable to wear, and they’re super easy to apply and blend for a novice like me!

After applying eyeshadow I’ve been lightly powdering my nose, forehead and chin, adding a flick of liner, my trusty Lash Sensational Mascara and a slick of nude lipstick and I’m good to go.

I’m really loving a more natural, glowy look at the moment, I think it’s the perfect transition between full coverage winter makeup and barely there BB creams and tinted moisturisers in the summer. What are your favourite products for creating a dewy base? I’d love to try more!

cropped-untitled-3.jpg

11 thoughts on “Glowy Spring Makeup”

  1. Such great picks. I love the collection Concealer finish but I just can’t find the right shade for me. However, the nude Magique Cushion foundation is my go to lately – I love the dewy flawless finish! Xx

  2. Ooooo that Mac eyeshadow looks gorgeous! I’ve only tried a blusher from Mac before but I definitely need to branch out and try more of their products. Highlighter sticks are fab too, I’m loving the Makeup Revolution ones atm! 🙂

  3. I love a glowy makeup look, and that Collection Speedy Highlighter is one of my favourites too! X

  4. That Mac eyeshadow is gorgeous! Who doesn’t love a bit of glow for when the sun comes out xx
    Liv
    livslack.blogspot.co.uk

Leave a Reply

